Class is a new MTG card subtype introduced with Forgotten Realms. In this article, we’ll talk about everything you need to know about it, including:
- How do MTG Class cards work?
- FAQ about MTG Class cards
- And more!
This way, you’ll be able to use of this mechanic to its fullest.
How Do MTG Class Cards Work?
Class is an enchantment subtype. (Other examples of enchantment subtypes include Sagas, Auras, Shrines, etc.)
Each Class card has three class abilities / levels. When you play a Class card, you get access to the first ability immediately.
You can then pay its level 2 costs to add its second level effect to the card. Once you reach the second level, you can advance to the third one and get the card’s full effect. You can only level up at sorcery speed. (That’s during your first or second main phase.)
Let’s take a look at Wizard Class as an example.
So you pay one blue mana, and you get the Level 1 effect (in the top square). So you have no maximum hand size.
At some point later in the game – or immediately, as Classes don’t have summoning sickness, you decide to pay it’s level 2 costs – three mana, one of which must be blue. Now you get the second effect as well. With this particular Class, this is a triggered ability. So, when Wizard Class becomes level 2, you get to draw 2 cards.
Afterwards, you can pay its level 3 costs. That’s five mana, one of which must be blue. When you do so, you get the final effect as well. Whenever you draw a card, you get to put a +1/+1 counter on one of your creatures.
MTG Class – FAQ
Does a Class card lose its previous effect when you level it up?
No. Class cards keep all the previous effects when you level them up.
Why can’t I level up my Class card on Arena?
Most likely, you were trying to level it during your opponent’s turn. You can’t do that, as you can only level up Class cards at sorcery speed.
If that isn’t the case, then it’s possible that there’s an effect like that on Academic Probation. So something that prevents you from activating your Class card.
Can you have multiples of the same Class card in play?
Yes. As long as they aren’t legendary, you can have as many of the same Class cards in play as you want. (So far, there are no legendary Class cards.)
Keep in mind that if you have two same Class cards in play, that doesn’t mean they share a level. So you can have two Monk Class cards in play – one at level 1, and the other at level 2.
Can I level up a Class card multiple times per turn?
Yes, you can. You can advance to level 2, and afterwards to level 3 in the same turn. Of course, you need to have enough mana to do so.
Adventures in the Forgotten Realms is a DND themed set. In Dungeons and Dragons, your character has a class (like Fighter, Monk, Cleric, etc.). During the gameplay, you advance (level up) your character’s class.
This is represented quite nicely with the MTG Class cards. At first, they might be somewhat weak, but they do get better as the game progresses.
That’s it for MTG Class cards. Hopefully, you now know how they work, so you’ll be able to use this knowledge to your advantage. If there are some other questions you have, feel free to ask us in the comments below, and we’ll get back to you as fast as we can.
If you’re a Commander player, you’ll probably be happy to learn that here are four new Commander precons being released. You can find more information about Forgotten Realms Commander decks here.
Also, don’t forget to check if you used all MTG Arena codes here – and once Forgotten Realms releases, you’ll be able to claim 3 free Forgotten Realms boosters as well.
Until next time, have fun and may you always level up your game!
22 thoughts on “MTG Class Cards – Rules and Interactions Explained”
When you mouse over the Cleric Class card, it pops up “Double Strike”. What’s that about?
That’s a bug, and it should be good in the next Arena update probably.
Are class levels a one time thing or can I level up to level 2 again during my next turn?
Yes, they are a one time thing, which means you can’t level up to the same level more than once.
Drafted a cleric deck on this…. assumed it was a SBE… how do I get my draft token refunded!!
What do you mean by SBE?
can you have mutliple different classes?
Yes, you can have multiple different classes.
Do you have to pay the mana cost each turn to use these?
No, once you level up a Saga, it doesn’t level down.
Can you play a creature card from the top of your deck without paying mana with the ranger class it dosnt mention you have to pay it just says cast
No. If that were the case, Ranger’s Class would have to specifically say: “…you may cast it without paying its mana cost.”
Can you play a class card on another player?
No. It only works for you.
Can you copy a level up ability with something like weaver of harmony and then go to the max level?
No, you can’t.
Wizard class- draw 2.
Does this mean i draw for turn plus draw 2 (making it 3 cards each turn) OR only draw 2?
It means that you get to draw 2 card immediately after you get it to level 2. It doesn’t change how many cards you draw during your draw step.
Can you not activate a class ability and just pay 2nd and 3rd class cost at same time to get to 3rd class?
You have to first activate second ability, then the third. Each one will trigger separately, but you can do both in the same turn, if you have the mana to do so.
It says that leveling up is treated as a sorcery, so than can I use a counter spell or negate when an opponent levels up to counter it? Will the class card fizzle as a result if so?
You can only level up a Class card at sorcery speed. This means that you can level it up any time you could cast a sorcery, it doesn’t mean that it becomes a sorcery spell.
So, no, you can’t use Negate or Counterspell to counter leveling up. You could counter a Class card, while it’s on the stack, so when your opponent casts it.However, you can’t counter leveling up. Since leveling up is a activated ability, you could use a card like Stifle that can counter it. This would mean that your opponent would have to pay the mana again in order to get to the next level.