MTG Case Rules: How Does the New Enchantment Type Work?

Case is a new MTG enchantment subtype introduced with Murders at Karlov Manor set. In this article, we’ll talk about everything you need to know about it:

  • What are Case cards?
  • How do Case cards work?
  • Can you destroy a Case?
  • And more!

Let’s get to it.

How Does a Case Work?

Case is a new enchantment subtype. It consists of three parts, top, middle, and bottom. When a case comes into play, it is considered unsolved.

The top ability is always active.

The middle ability (To solve) states the condition that needs to be met in order to solve the Case. If the case is unsolved, it checks whether the condition has been met, at the beginning of your end step. If it is, then the Case becomes solved.

The bottom ability (Solved) is only active if the Case has been solved.

This might be a bit complex, so let’s take a look at an example for better understanding.


Here’s Case of The Ransacked Lab, a rare Case card.

Case of the Ransacked Lab MTG Case Rules

You pay three mana and play the card. Since it’s an enchantment, it remains in play. For as long as it remains in play, your instants and sorceries cost one mana less.

In order to solve the case, you need to cast at least four instants and sorcery spells in your turn. At the beginning of your end step, the Case checks if it condition has been met. If it was, it becomes solved.

This means, you get your reward. Now whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, you get to draw a card. And remember – your instants and sorceries still cost one mana less. All in all, this is quite a synergistic card.

Second Example

While that’s the general gist of the card, these all work slightly differently, so let’s take a look at another one.

MTG Case Rules Explained of the Pilfered Proof

For this Case, you only need to pay two mana. Whenever one of your Detectives enters the play (or is turned face up), you put a +1/+1 counter on that Detective. If you’re wondering what are Detectives, that’s a new creature type.

In order to solve the case, you’ll need to control three Detectives at the beginning of your end step.

Once the Case is solved, you unlock the reward. Whenever you create tokens, you recieve an additional Clue token alongside them. Pretty neat.

MTG Case – FAQ

Here are some commonly asked questions and answers about Cases. We’re still gathering information, so if you have a question about these, let us know in the comments below. We’ll get back to you, and include it here.

What happens if I solve a Case, but the condition isn’t met on one of the later turns?

Nothing. Once the Case is solved, it remains solved.

Do Case cards work like Sagas?

No, while they look similar, they work in a completely different way.

Can I destroy a Case card? How?

Yes, any card that can destroy an enchantment or a permanent, can destroy a Case.

Can a solved case be destroyed?

Yes, it doesn’t matter if a case is solved or unsolved, it can still be destroyed.

Is it possible to respond to “To solve” ability of a Case?

Yes, it is. The condition first has to be met at the beginning of its controller’s end step. If it is, it goes onto stack. At that point any player can respond to it. In this window you could potentially disrupt the condition of the opponent’s Case in order for it to remain unsolved.

What happens if I steal a solved Case?

If you somehow manage to steal a solved Case, it remains solved and you get all active bonuses from it.


That’s all about the MTG Case rules. While the cards seem a bit weird, they’ll probably play out quite nicely. If you want to open some of these new enchantments, you can already preorder Murders at Karlov Manor Play boosters.

Murders at Karlov Manor Play Booster Box

In case, you want to learn more about this set, check Murders at Karlov Manor spoilers here.

Until next time, have fun, and may you solve all of your Cases.

8 thoughts on “MTG Case Rules: How Does the New Enchantment Type Work?”

  1. If I solve a case, will it keep its unsolved ability in addition to its solved ability? Or will its unsolved ability be replaced with its solved ability?

  2. Got a real jerk of a player I wanna prove wrong, so I just want to be crystal clear about this: Do I have to solve the Case the same turn I cast it, or can I solve it on a later turn? Everywhere I’ve looked in the usual places doesn’t explicitly say the latter, so he’s claiming the former.

    • At the beginning of your each end step an unsolved case checks if its condition has been met. So, yes you are correct. It can also be solved on any of the later turns.

  3. On the case of the pilfered proof (above) if the conditions are NOT met, it says that it will be solved at the end of the turn anyways. what is the point?

    • You’re probably referring to the reminder text: (If unsolved, solve at the beginning of your end step.) This text is quite confusing, and what it tries to say is: If unsolved, solve at the beginning of your end step, if the condition is met. So, it won’t just get solved automatically.

  4. What exactly does ‘solved’ mean in game terms? Is it a counter, or is it a weird ‘state’ that a card keeps regardless of what happens to it?

    Let’s say I have a Case that is ‘solved’ but is then turned into a Forest with Song of the Dryads. Is it still ‘solved’ when the enchantment is removed? What about copying effects? Mirage Mirror copies a case, is solved, and then returns to being an artifact – is it still ‘solved’ if it then copies another Case?

    • Solved is a designation a permanent can have. It has no rules meaning other than to act as a marker that spells and abilities can identify.
      Once a permanent becomes solved, it remains solved until it leaves the battlefield. Thus, in your scenario of Song with the Dryads, the case will remain solved.
      Bering solved is not a part of a permanent’s copiable values. So, if you copy a solved case, the copy isn’t solved.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.