MTG Magecraft – Rules and Interactions Explained

Magecraft is a new MTG mechanic in Strixhaven: School of Mages. In this article, I’ll explain everything you need to know about this new mechanic, including:

  • How Magecraft works
  • Examples of Magecraft cards
  • MTG Magecraft FAQ
  • Interesting interactions with this mechanic
  • And more!

Let’s take a look.

How Does Magecraft Work?

Magecraft is a triggered ability. It triggers whenever you cast or copy an Instant or Sorcery spell. The effect of the Magecraft ability is specified on the card. Here are some examples:


Witherbloom Pledgemage MTG Magecraft Rules

One of the new Strixhaven cards with the Magecraft ability is Witherbloom Pledgemage. Its ability will cause you to gain one life whenever an Instant or Sorcery spell is cast or copied.

Let’s take a look at one more example of Magecraft:

Quandrix Apprentice Magecraft Rules

Quandrix Apprentice is a 2/2 creature. Is also has its own unique Magecraft ability. It causes you to look at the top three cards of you library. You can then reveal a land from among them and put it into your hand. So, every time you cast or copy an Instant or Sorcery spell, you will be able to look at the top three cards of you library and put a land from them into your hand.

Hopefully, you now understand how MTG Magecraft works. Our FAQ section should help to clear up any of your remaining questions.

Magecraft – FAQ

Does Storm trigger Magecraft?

Yes. The Storm ability copies a spell for each spell cast before it in a turn. The Magecraft ability triggers off copied spells.

For example, if you copy a Grapeshot ten times, you will get one Magecraft trigger for casting the spell. You will then get ten Magecraft triggers for copying the spell ten times.

If I use a spell to copy another Instant or Sorcery spell, how many times will Magecraft trigger?

Copying an already cast Instant or Sorcery spell with another Instant or Sorcery spell will result in three Magecraft triggers in total. You will get one Magecraft trigger from the originally cast spell. You will also get one Magecraft trigger from the copying spell, and one Magecraft trigger from the copied one.

For example, a Lightning Bolt is cast and is then copied by a Reverberate. In total, there will be three Magecraft triggers. You will get one trigger from the original Lightning Bolt. Then, you will get 1 trigger from the Reverberate. Finally, you will get one trigger from the copied Lightning Bolt.

If I copy an opponent’s Instant or Sorcery spell, will I get a Magecraft trigger?

Yes. It may be your opponent’s spell, but you are copying it. Therefore, you will get a Magecraft trigger.

If I have multiple cards with Magecraft, will all of their abilities trigger? Or do I have to choose one?

All of your cards with Magecraft will trigger when you cast or copy an Instant or Sorcery spell.

Do you have any specific questions about Magecraft? Please ask us in the comments and we will answer as quickly as we can.

Magecraft – Flavor

Strixhaven University is the largest University in the multiverse. Students in the University are constantly practicing their magical disciplines. The Magecraft mechanic represents this, granting an ability each time you cast or copy an Instant or Sorcery spell.

MTG Magecraft – Interesting Interactions

Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog

One interesting interaction with the Magecraft mechanic is between Chain of Smog and Witherbloom Apprentice. Witherbloom Apprentice‘s Magecraft ability causes each opponent to lose one life, while you gain one life.

When used in combination with a card that can be cast infinite times, like Chain of Smog, this Magecraft ability can easily win the game. To cast Chain of Smog infinite times, cast it targeting yourself. Then, you may copy the spell and cast it again targeting yourself. You can repeat this process as many times as you need to kill your opponent with Magecraft triggers.

Notably, in this combo, you have to target yourself with Chain of Smog. Otherwise your opponent can decide not to copy it and you will not get infinite Magecraft triggers.

Clever Lumimancer in Modern

Clever Lumimancer Magecraft Rules

Clever Lumimancer is another powerful Magecraft card to come out of Strixhaven. It slots in naturally amongst many of modern’s aggro decks. These decks play non-creature spells to grow their cheap Creatures. When combined with efficient spells such as Manamorphose, Clever Lumimancer can output a ton of damage in one turn. This demands an answer from the opponent. If they don’t have one, they will likely end up dead.

Here is an example decklist for a modern Clever Lumimancer deck. Frakom used it to reach the Top 8 of the MTGO Modern Challenge.

Companion (1)
Lurrus of the Dream-Den

Creature (14)
Clever Lumimancer
Monastery Swiftspear
Soul-Scar Mage
Abbot of Keral Keep

Instant (18)
Lava Dart
Lightning Bolt
Mutagenic Growth
Boros Charm

Sorcery (5)
Crash Through
Light Up the Stage

Artifact (4)
Mishra’s Bauble

Land (18)
Arid Mesa
Bloodstained Mire
Inspiring Vantage
Sacred Foundry
Sunbaked Canyon
Wooded Foothills
Sideboard (15)
Rip Apart
Lurrus of the Dream-Den
Soul-Guide Lantern
Shrine of Burning Rage
Kor Firewalker
Path to Exile


Thanks for reading about the Magecraft mechanic. Hopefully, you now have an advanced understanding of how Magecraft works. If you still have questions that you’d like answered, make sure to ask them in the comment section.

If you’re looking for more articles to improve your MTG knowledge, you can check the following articles:

Until next time, and keep casting spells!

7 thoughts on “MTG Magecraft – Rules and Interactions Explained”

    • Boardwipe goes on the stack, then all of your magecraft triggers go on the stack. Your magecraft triggers resolve first, then the boardwipe, and all creatures that aren’t indestructible die.

    • As magecraft triggers after the board wipe is cast, it goes above it in the stack and resolves before the board wipe

    • I’m not entirely sure what you’re asking. Yes, you can use a legendary creature with magecraft as your commander.
      No, the magecraft ability of your commander won’t trigger if it’s just staying in your command zone.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.